HTML2Articles ON SALE!

From only £79.
Be quick - offer ends soon!

Get it here

 
 
 

FLASH SALE - AUTOTUBE


From only £19.
Be quick - offer ends soon!

Get it here

 
 
 

Satisfaction guaranteed

I back my products with a guarantee. Let me know if you hit any problems.

Read more...

 
 
 

Who's online

We have 8 visitors online
 
 
 

Migrate Me PLUS: Upgrade to Joomla 3 in seconds

Written by

Brand new and just released: Migrate Me PLUS!

This is MigrateMe, completely rebuilt for Joomla! versions 1.6, 1.7 and 2.5.

Migrate Me PLUS allows you to upgrade Joomla 1.6, 1.7 and 2.5 to the latest version of Joomla! in seconds.

You can now upgrade directly to Joomla 3 with just a single click.

The upgrade will completely update your filesystem and database to the latest versions of Joomla.

Your images, articles, data and files will all be perfectly maintained, and your google page rank will be completely unaffected.

As part of the upgrade, Migrate Me PLUS will take a full backup of your database and filesystem. This means you can test out the new version of Joomla, and then if you decide you don't want it, you can simply rollback your system to your old configuration.

Get Joomla 3 in 90 seconds

A standard Joomla 2.5 system takes around 90 seconds to completely migrate to Joomla 3.

And in that time, Migrate Me PLUS will copy all your existing files, duplicate your database, install Joomla 3, update your Admin area, save all your articles and data and switch you to the new Joomla 3 Admin interface.

Watch the tutorial to see just how easy the upgrade is!

Installation and usage instructions

1) Install MigrateMe PLUS to your Joomla! 1.6, 1.7 or 2.5 system

2) Click the button to upgrade

3) Allow MigrateMe PLUS time to complete

4) Enjoy your new version of Joomla!

Buy it today

All purchases come with upgrades, support, and a satisfaction guarantee.

Silver package

  • Includes all features
  • 3 months full support
  • 3 months updates
  • GPL v3 License
  • Upgrade from Joomla 1.6, 1.7, 2.5, 3.1, 3.2 or 3.3
  • Upgrade to Joomla 2.5, 3.1, 3.2, 3.3 or 3.4
  • Guaranteed migration success
  • Upgrade to other Joomla systems released within next 3 months

Only £99

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online.

Gold package

  • Includes all features
  • Lifetime support
  • Lifetime updates
  • GPL v3 License
  • Upgrade from Joomla 1.6, 1.7, 2.5, 3.1, 3.2 or 3.3
  • Upgrade to Joomla 2.5, 3.1, 3.2, 3.3 or 3.4
  • Guaranteed migration success
  • Lifetime future upgrades guaranteed - get Joomla 3.5, 4 and 4.5 as they are released

Only £159

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online.

Screenshots


Your comments

1-100 of 192 Comments

Dimitris

Rating:
April 04, 2015 - 09:34

hello i just bought this plugin and i am expecting to do my job !

but i am keep having issues with errors pop up when i run the plugin. i am not sure why but i need some help !

Reply to Dimitris

Dimitris

Rating:
April 04, 2015 - 09:38

the problem is when copy the files

Cloning current Joomla files: media/
53% complete

and then the failed message

Reply to Dimitris

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
April 04, 2015 - 09:38

Hi Dimitris,

Thank you for getting in touch!

In general, any popup errors are from your server - the migration runs very very fast, and it is not always able to keep up with the speed.

The first thing to do is go to Migrate Me Plus > Configuration and reduce the Migration Speed. Try 'Slower' which should greatly reduce any strain on your server.

After this, click Start Migration to restart the migration from the beginning. You do not need to make any other change. It should complete successfully, but if you continue to hit this error, please contact me directly via support AT php-web-design.com (or reply to this email) with a screenshot for direct assistance.

Thanks & all the best,
Barnaby Dixon

Reply to Dimitris

Dimitris

Rating:
April 04, 2015 - 09:52

ok i try but for some strange reason the settings are not saved. i try to change the speed also the version but for some reason the changes are not saving

Reply to Dimitris

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
April 04, 2015 - 09:53

Please go to Global Configuration and change the Cache to 'Off' while you run Migrate Me Plus. This will ensure the new settings are correctly saved and used by the system.

Cheers!

Reply to Dimitris

Dimitris

Rating:
April 04, 2015 - 10:08

ok let me try again and i will let you know through email from now on, i just want it to let you know that i am very excited from your response allready !! i hope i will do my job !

Reilly

Rating:
March 30, 2015 - 17:31

Very happy with the program, just coming across some minor issues.

Upgraded from Joomla 1.6 to 3.4 and while Joomla seems to actually be retrieving appropriate information from the database, within the CMS it shows for most screens that retrieve information from the database (Such as user manager here)

An error has occurred : 500 Table 'ab8141_asc.jml_user_notes' doesn't exist SQL=SELECT n.user_id, COUNT(n.id) As note_count FROM jml_user_notes AS n WHERE n.user_id IN (45,44,55,42,43) AND n.state >= 0 GROUP BY n.user_id

Wondering how to go about fixing this.

Reply to Reilly

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
March 30, 2015 - 18:47

Hi there Reilly,

Thank you for getting in touch. The error appears to be that the configuration.php file hasn't been correctly updated, so the new system is still looking at your old Joomla 2.5 data tables. This can happen if the configuration.php file has Read-Only (0444) permission.

Please find the file /mmp_upgrade/configuration.php and change the permissions to 0644, or Read-Write. Then, edit it and find the line $dbprefix='...'; and change this to $dbprefix='mmp_xxxx_' where xxxx_ is your original prefix.

This should correct the issue, but if not, or you'd like me to take a look or do this for you, please send me an admin login to the original system and I will rerun the full migration for you, and ensure it's working as expected.

Thanks & all the best, Barnaby Dixon

Reply to Reilly

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
March 30, 2015 - 20:17

Hi again,

Just another small update - following on from your question, I have made a change to the configuration update procedure. Hopefully it will now be able to make the changes automatically as required. If you'd like to try the new version, please download as normal - I uploaded it a few moments ago.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Derek

Rating:
March 29, 2015 - 21:39

I am getting the 500 error
checked here and saw the tmp directory issue but it looks fine to me.
Also noted this answer from 2014 "The 500 error is something you'll often get if the migration runs too fast for the server. You'll need to go to Migrate Me Plus > Configuration and change 'Processing Speed' to 5, and increase the AJAX delay to 2."

I cant find any settings to adjust MMP so perhaps this was in an older version?

Reply to Derek

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
March 30, 2015 - 08:45

Hi Derek,

I think your version of Migrate Me Plus needs to be updated. Please download the latest version, which includes updated documentation, which should show the correct settings... these are:

- Reduce the Migration Speed to Normal (or lower)
- Change Enable Acceleration to No

I hope that helps, please let me know. All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Tommy Weber

Rating:
March 19, 2015 - 23:45

Hi Barnaby,
your extension is fantastic, works like a charm, and its totally easy to use! Thank you so much for this...
Kind regards, Tommy

Reply to Tommy Weber

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
March 20, 2015 - 09:11

Awesome Tommy, thank you for your wonderful feedback!

Have a great day - Barnaby

Martine

Rating:
March 13, 2015 - 13:32

I LOVE Migrate Me Plus! It has saved me soooo much time upgrading my clients sites.

I have upgraded about 20 or so without issue, but the one I am working on right now does not show the home page content (system output) once I am in the mmp_upgrade site. It is correct on the 2.5.x site. All mods & coms have been upgraded for compatible 3.3.6

I am converting locally, then backing up and restoring the finished sites to the live domain. Again, love MMP, have had little to no problems to this point. Any ideas?

Reply to Martine

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
March 13, 2015 - 14:31

Hi there Martine,

Thank you for getting in touch. Without having seen the site, I don't know exactly what happened here - but - my advice would be to firstly check the log file for any problems, and secondly, try using a different template (try Protostar) to see if that helps. If it does... you'll need to get a Joomal 3.4 compatible template.

Hope that helps! Barnaby Dixon

Reply to Martine

Martine

Rating:
March 13, 2015 - 18:23

Hi Barnaby, good call, the default template allowed the content to show. But I do really need to use the YooMaster theme that had all my layout and CSS settings. Any ideas why it would have lost the system output area?

Reply to Martine

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
March 14, 2015 - 18:51

Hi Martine,

I'm sorry I don't know without seeing the system. I would guess the template is causing a conflict of some kind, which would often be down to its using outdated coding techniques that are no longer compatible with the latest version of Joomla. If you enable Error Reporting, it should show the error message.

My advice would be to check with your template creator to ask if there's an update available that's specifically Joomla 3.4 compatible.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Rudaigh

Rating:
March 01, 2015 - 22:13

Barnaby,

Ten minutes from banging my head into the wall, I figured out what I did. Or didn't do. I had not downloaded the 3.0 version of the template to the old site before it was migrated. For some reason I thought it would only work if I added it to the migrated site. It didn't. But the migrating tool dragged the updated template from the old to the mmp upgrade site and it worked like a charm. Migratemeplus is great. This migrator is just a little dim.

Thanks.

Reply to Rudaigh

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
March 02, 2015 - 08:39

Hi Rudaigh,

How strange - well I'm glad you found a suitable solution.

Thank you for the update! Have a great day

Rudaigh

Rating:
March 01, 2015 - 05:45

Hello again,

Another question. I've disabled all but the Joomla Project and Rok extensions. But am having trouble uploading the 3.x version of previous template. Just get blank screen. Am I missing something here? The plan was to introduce updated versions of other extensions once the skeleton was there. Followed the suggestions of previous poster about Rockettheme templates and am almost there but not quite.

Must I fiddle with some code?

Thanks for you help.

Reply to Rudaigh

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
March 01, 2015 - 21:30

Hi Rudaigh,

My guess is there is a third party extension interfering with the installation proceedure in some way. Have you updated all other third party extensions (particularly ones that might interfere with this process, like Akeeba Backup?)

If you can't track down the culprit, please send me a login and the template for installation and I'll work it out for you.

Thanks & all the best, Barnaby Dixon

Rudaigh

Rating:
February 26, 2015 - 18:33

Hello,

First of all, Holy Cow, this is great.
Second of all, I've made some mistake and need to try it again. Can't seem to find a login page now. Instead message reads in part "Fatal error: Call to undefined method Joomla\Registry\Registry::loadJSON() in /hermes/bosnaweb05a/b2893/ipg" and references RokCandy in the next part. If I were just to start the whole migration over again, would that overly complicate things? Would any changes I had made in the mmp_upgrade be retained or wiped out? I'm hoping wipe-out. Your support is first-class. Thanks.

Reply to Rudaigh

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
February 26, 2015 - 19:09

Hi Rudaigh,

You can simply open Migrate Me and rerun the migration, and yes this will completely wipe out the old migration and start again. To be extra safe you can go to Migrate Me Plus > Configuration and change Empty Migration Folder to Yes,and it'll ensure the migration folder is empty on restart.

The error you mentioned sounds like the rokcandy extension needs to be updated - after the new migration I'd do this first.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Jan Olav Bollmann

Rating:
February 25, 2015 - 08:55

I have migratet at least 30 Joomla with MigrateMePlus. The few problems are extensions I have overseen, which was easy to fix. Just upgrade, disable og underscore it from FTP.
Tkanx for making migration so easy :-)

Reply to Jan Olav Bollmann

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
February 27, 2015 - 18:09

Thanks for your kind words Jan!

Eduardo Mena

Rating:
February 21, 2015 - 17:53

Hello
I bought the extension several months ago. Ive used it two times. The first time it worked perfectly. But now it isn't working. I spent a lot of time working on my new site and when I press go live, it only displays an error.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1f03gw6bkw10l16/Screenshot%202015-02-21%2012.48.17.png?dl=0

I'm trying to upgrade from 2.5.28 to 3.0

Reply to Eduardo Mena

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
February 21, 2015 - 18:51

Hi there,

The error is that one of your tables (wqcdy_jaem_log) is corrupted and cannot be backed up by Migrate Me Plus. This can happen if your data table is used for too long without any optimization or repair operations.

The best solution would be to fix your table, and then re-run Migrate Me Plus. But also, please download the very latest version of Migrate Me Plus from https://www.php-web-design.com/?option=com_downloads and install this before doing the Go Live, since this version will be able to bypass the error, and instead simply write the error to the log.

All the best,

Barnaby Dixon

Thyme Wisper

Rating:
February 09, 2015 - 20:31

I am anxious to purchase the Migrate Me Plus to migrate my Joomla! 2.5 website to 3.x. I have installed a new template that is compatiable with both 2.5 and 3.x. I haven't totally restructured my menu system etc. to the new template design, since I figure it would make more sense to do that when I have correct versions of modules for this template.

I have read all the comments, I think, and your documentation. I have not seen anything about requirements for Admin Tools Pro. I have used much of the security configuration - to the url of the admin, for example. Do I need to do anything about "loosening up" Admin Tools to do the migration?

Also, I lock my domain in my host c-Panel. I have discovered I must unlock it to allow akeeba to change the final extension in the backup file. Do I need to have the domain unlocked for MigrateMe Plus to work?

Reply to Thyme Wisper

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
February 09, 2015 - 20:45

Hi there Thyme,

Thank you for getting in touch.

Admin Tools Pro is quite a complex extension, in that it affects absolutely everything your Joomla system touches, so for best results (or if you get strange errors) you might want to disable it just while the migration runs. Also just please note - you'll need to reinstall all Akeeba extensions such as Admin Tools and Backup after migration to ensure that they're using the correct Joomla 3 libraries.

Other than that you should be good to go!

The domain shouldn't matter - Migrate Me Plus creates a subfolder relative to your main domain, so whether it's locked or unlocked it should work well. But if you do hit any issues there, just let me know and I'll check things out for you if needed.

All the best - Barnaby Dixon

giuseppe

Rating:
February 09, 2015 - 10:42

Hi, I would like to migrate the site from version 2.5 to 3.3.6 I would like to know if I migrated plus also correctly handles the migration of url seo plugin JoomSEF

Reply to giuseppe

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
February 09, 2015 - 11:21

Hi there,

Thank you for your question.

Yes, Migrate Me Plus also handles JoomSef.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Reply to giuseppe

giuseppe

Rating:
February 09, 2015 - 11:27

Thanks for the swift response Barnaby Dixon!
Last question ... made the migration phase in which test efforts to prevent google indexes the test site?

Reply to giuseppe

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
February 09, 2015 - 20:46

Hi Giuseppe,

Your test site shouldn't be 'visible' by Google or any other search engine, unless you add a link to it. But to be completely sure, you can add a robots.txt file with the following content:

User-agent: *
Disallow: /

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Mark Richardson

Rating:
February 05, 2015 - 16:13

Hi Am interested in buying Migrate me plus as the comments above are so positive.

I see the gold option is unlimited but can I please ask the following questions?

1/ Can I use it more than once?

2/Does it create all the backups or am I still better doing that?

3/ Do I need to uninstall all third party extensions such as Virtumart, unite nivo slider and dpcalendar?

4/ Do I need to uninstall third party templates?

Sorry for the questions but I am concerned about making a mess of migration and your software looks perfect for me.

Thanks in advance
Mark

Reply to Mark Richardson

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
February 05, 2015 - 16:19

Hi Mark,

Thank you for getting in touch.

1) Yes you can use it on all your systems, as often as you like

2) It does create backups for you, and won't affect your 'live site' in any way until you 'Go Live' at which point it will completely back up your live system before making any changes.

3) No you won't need to uninstall anything.

4) No you won't need to uninstall templates. You will need to check post migration that both templates and extensions are compatible with Joomla 3, and update them where needed.

Migration is relatively easy, and usually goes flawlessly, but if you do hit any issues at all feel free to send me an email or get in touch on this board, and I'll help you resolve any issues.

All the best - Barnaby Dixon

Pieter

Rating:
February 03, 2015 - 17:35

Dear Barnaby,

I'm migrating a Joomla 1.6.3 on a remote server (with MigrateMe Plus), but the process is stuck at 88% for some hours now. Could you please let me know what could be matter?

Best wishes

Reply to Pieter

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
February 03, 2015 - 17:52

Hi Pieter,

Thank you for getting in touch.

This is an issue you can hit if you have a slow server I'm afraid. At 88% Migrate Me Plus is running hundreds of queries to update your database to Joomla 3, but unfortunately the speed can be slightly too much.

Please reduce the speed in Migrate Me Plus > Configuration, and also set 'Enable acceleration' to 'No'. Then re-run the migration, and it should work well.

If you continue to hit this problem, please send me an admin login and I will take a look for you.

Thanks & all the best,
Barnaby Dixon

Dan Gryn

Rating:
January 26, 2015 - 19:33

Awesome product. My little contribution.

For Rockettheme templates these steps are recommended after successful Migrate Me Plus conversion:

1) Reinstall the latest version of Gantry Framework -> http://gantry-framework.org/download
2) Install or reinstall RokSprocket to correct RokCommon issues -> http://www.rockettheme.com/extensions-joomla/roksprocket
3) Re-enable these plugins:
System - RokExtender
System - RokBox
System - RokUpdater
System - RokCandy
System - RokGallery
4) check that these are enabled:
Content - RokBox
Content - RokInjectModule
Button - RokBox
Button - RokCandy
Button - RokGallery
System - RokCommon

Reply to Dan Gryn

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
January 27, 2015 - 12:51

Fantastic, thank you Dan, I hope other users find this useful!

John Weaver

Rating:
January 23, 2015 - 23:47

Hi Barnaby, The migration went well using Migrate me Plus but when attempting to login to the 'Admin' area I get the message "Your host needs to use PHP 5.3.10 or higher to run this version of Joomla!" I use Hostgator hosting and haven't contacted them yet. Any suggestions? John

Reply to John Weaver

John Weaver

Rating:
January 24, 2015 - 06:05

Don't worry, my host moved to php 5.4 (which I understand is the current version) and when reinstalled and then logging in to Admin its clear the matter was resolved.
Sorry to trouble you! John

Reply to John Weaver

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
January 24, 2015 - 06:12

Hi John,

Thank you for getting in touch - I'm glad you've been able to get this one sorted! You do need PHP 5.3.10 or higher to run Joomla 3, usually a quick email to your host is all that's needed.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Alex Rock

Rating:
January 16, 2015 - 09:09

Hi I recently used Migrate me plus on our organisation's site. Everything went fairly well, I just have some questions I am hoping you can answer quickly.

The main site is still active with joomla2.5 while I work on getting all the extensions and styles updated on the upgrade site. But we are experiencing instability and site crashes on the live site. The error messages have to do with not being able to write to SQL. Any advice on solving this instability?

On the upgrade server none of the links from the menu work, they all go to 404. All the articles and categories exist but I cant see them. Is this something that will be fixed when I go live or will everything have to be redone?

The upgrade site path is http://potentialproject.com/mmp_upgrade/

Thanks in advance

Reply to Alex Rock

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
January 16, 2015 - 13:03

Hi there Alex,

Thanks for getting in touch.

The migrated site is physically completely separate from the live site, so any changes shouldn't affect the live site at all until you 'Go Live'. So my best guess at what is happening is that the MySql server is unable to keep up. You will need to ask your server admins for advice on this issue, since they will have access to the logs and should be able to spot which process(es) are slowing down the server. They might also be able to recommend a suitable upgrade for either your server memory or the MySql settings. Joomla 3 does have higher memory requirements than Joomla 2.5, so an upgrade is sometimes in order, depending on how powerful your server is.

On the 404 issue, this is quite easily resolved: you have SEO urls enabled, but the required htaccess file is disabled by default in Joomla 3. Please rename the file /mmp_upgrade/htaccess.txt to .htaccess and the urls should work perfectly.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Lilly

Rating:
January 14, 2015 - 08:09

Hi there, I'm left with a black page when trying to log into admin... Have deleted all the Joomla 2.5 extensions and updated them but still get a blank page. I am able to follow the link to the extensions page but nothing ells... Please assist!

Reply to Lilly

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
January 14, 2015 - 13:35

Hi there,

Thank you for your email.

Please send me an admin login to the new mmp_upgrade system and I will check out what is happening for you.

Thanks!

Barnaby Dixon

Idar H. Pedersen

Rating:
January 11, 2015 - 10:08

A great migration tool. It took no more than a few minutes to migrate from 2.5.8 to 3.3.6.

My problem is that it seems that the system did not make a full integration. When I log on to the admin page, it still looks a lot like Joomla 2.5.8, and it does not work properly.

Have you experienced this problem before?

- Idar

Reply to Idar H. Pedersen

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
January 12, 2015 - 14:43

Hi there Idar,

Thank you for getting in touch. My guess is that the migration didn't complete properly, since one of the final tasks the migration does is to update your Joomla admin template.

Please re-run the migration, but if it continues to not work correctly please send me an admin login to the original system and I will check out why the migration might not have completed.

Thanks & all the best, Barnaby Dixon

Kevin

Rating:
December 31, 2014 - 15:41

I have three websites that I run; same company but separate websites. Do I have to buy three separate packages or can I buy one and use that across the three sites?

Many thanks

Kevin

Reply to Kevin

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
December 31, 2014 - 19:10

Hi Kevin,

Thank you for your question. You are free to use the same package across all three sites.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

John Sies

Rating:
December 16, 2014 - 02:50

Your program has been very good, better than I had hoped. My problem is this: I am upgrading from joomla 2.5, I installed and ran your program. It functioned great. When finished it gave me a choice of viewing the log file or logging into the new admin page. There is no "go live" button. And when I try to log into the new site, I enter my username/password and it opens to a blank page.
Any thoughts on this?
Thank you.
John

Reply to John Sies

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
December 16, 2014 - 02:56

Hi there John,

Thank you for getting in touch.

After migration, you can Go Live from within the new Joomla 3 system. Just open up Migrate Me Plus in Joomla 3, and you'll see the new Go Live button.

I do recommend that before clicking it, you check the new system - since if you have extensions that aren't compatible with Joomla 3, they can cause issues, including the white screen that you mentioned.

Are you able to log into /administrator/index.php?option=com_installer ? If so, you may be able to update whichever extension is causing the white screen on the admin page - which generally tends to be a CPanel module. If not, or if you'd like me to try to work this one out for you, please send me an admin login and I'll take care of it for you.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Colin Wilson

Rating:
December 03, 2014 - 22:45

After wasting a few days trying to upgrade a site from 2.5.27 to 3.3.6, I bought your extension. It worked like a charm.

I had spent several days using backups just getting back to J2.5 square one from extension errors, plug-in errors, 500 errors and re-direct loops while trying to upgrade Joomla using the inbuilt upgrade methods, or doing it manually. Several times I had the 'WSOD' and got stuck.

The thing I like about Migrate Me Plus is the ability to test the site using the temporary directory/installation, whereas the usual Joomla upgrade paths just launch you into the deep end, like bungy jumping with a frayed rope hoping it will hold.

I had a couple of instances where I couldn't get into the new J3 admin back end, but the error messages pointed to an incompatible extension or plug-in and I was able to go back, delete it from the 2.5 site and start the process over again ... without a catastrophe. One of my really troublesome extensions was an unused Koowa framework.

Then when I got the J3 back end going, I was able to do the same and use a couple of error messages to update other extensions to trial the site before going 'live'. This is a huge time saver.

All up it cost me A$113 for the extension, and about A$70 for updated extensions ... much, much cheaper than spending days puzzling over errors and failures.

I am assuming that once the site is working perfectly, the mmp-upgrade directory can go? Or is it a good back-up?

Reply to Colin Wilson

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
December 04, 2014 - 11:46

Hi there Colin,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

Once the site is working perfectly, and you have used the Migrate Me Plus 'Go Live' functionality, you can safely remove the mmp_upgrade directory, and also any mmp_ data tables in your database. They are left where they are so that if the Go Live function fails for any reason, you can re-run it. But once you're happy with the new system, you can remove the temporary files and data tables if you like.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Huub

Rating:
November 24, 2014 - 05:58

Hello,

I have copied my live website (hosted) to a local Synology NAS (it has a webserver built in) and tested it thoroughly (including PHP, folder- and file rights et cetera). The testsite is fully functional.

I used the testsite to migrate from J2.5.27 to J3 and seconds after starting this process I'm getting this error message, can you help?

SyntaxError: JSON Parse error: Unexpected identifier "Notice"

Migration failed!

Error details:
Status:200
Error response:
Notice: Undefined variable: tabarray in /volume1/web/joomla/administrator/components/com_migratemeplus/resources/helpers/ajax.php on line 269

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /volume1/web/joomla/administrator/components/com_migratemeplus/resources/helpers/ajax.php on line 306
{"progress":2.9,"point":"optimizeData","text":"Optimizing your current database: inm_finder_links_terms3","error":"","start":0,"jdata":30}

Reply to Huub

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
November 24, 2014 - 11:18

Hi there,

Thank you for reporting this issue. I have replied privately with an update to correct this.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Nicol

Rating:
November 18, 2014 - 11:26

Hello,

Used it to migrate from 2.5 to 3.3 and it worked great. However, I'm using it on a website just now to move from 1.6.4 to 3.3. But I'm getting this error message, can you help?

Internal Server Error

Migration failed!

Error details:
Status:500
Error response:

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or
misconfiguration and was unable to complete
your request.
Please contact the server administrator,
www.123-support.co.uk and inform them of the time the error occurred,
and anything you might have done that may have
caused the error.
More information about this error may be available
in the server error log.

Apache Server at transitions-london.co.uk Port 80

For more information on this error, please check Troubleshooting in the User Guide. If this error continues, please contact support at php-web-design.com Thank you.

Reply to Nicol

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
November 18, 2014 - 17:24

Hi there Nicol,

Thank you for your email.

The 500 error is something you'll often get if the migration runs too fast for the server. You'll need to go to Migrate Me Plus > Configuration and change 'Processing Speed' to 5, and increase the AJAX delay to 2.

This should work for 99% of servers - but some (like GoDaddy) are very restrictive, and will require an AJAX delay of 30 just to work properly. But try the above settings first.

I hope that helps! Let me know if you need any more assistance.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Harribo

Rating:
November 13, 2014 - 08:47

Hello, I have installed a private component for Joomla version 2.5 and has the option to upgrade to 3.3 Q: MMP can convert this private components without any problem from 2.5 to 3.3? Or risk? Thank you for your response.

Reply to Harribo

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
November 13, 2014 - 09:32

Hi there,

Thank you for your question. There is no risk with upgrading a component to the Joomla 3.3 version after running Migrate Me Plus. The migration maintains all your data correctly, and you should find that the private component updates as expected. If you do hit any issues, please just send me an email for direct support.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

tom mcg

Rating:
November 05, 2014 - 21:34

hi Barnaby,
I have installed migrate me plus and upgraded my j2.5 site to j3,3 successfully. I have upgraded components in the clone site and generally cleaned the site up ready to go live.
My problem is this - when i click the go live button on the J3.3 admin section of migrate me plus - as it attempts to create a backup of my current live site database it freezes and cannot complete the task (always at 17% complete?).

I get a pop up browser message after a while as it cannot complete the task - here is the last message as they are sometimes a bit different:

Internal Server Error

Migration failed!

Error details:
Status:500
Error response:

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or
misconfiguration and was unable to complete
your request.
Please contact the server administrator,
webmaster@eyespace.co.uk and inform them of the time the error occurred,
and anything you might have done that may have
caused the error.
More information about this error may be available
in the server error log.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found
error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Hope you can assist me with this,as the site is perfect ready to go.

Reply to tom mcg

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
November 06, 2014 - 11:11

Hi there Tom,

Thank you for getting in touch. The problem is likely to be that the AJAX requests are running too fast for the server, and the server is dropping the connection.

To resolve this, please go to Migrate Me Plus > Configuration and set AJAX delay to 3 seconds.

This should resolve the problem, but if not, please send me an admin login to the Joomla 3 system and I'll take a look.

Thanks & all the best, Barnaby Dixon

Simon

Rating:
November 04, 2014 - 14:26

Hello,

what about of big website with big components (I mean CB, Easyblog, Kunena, Acymailing, for instance)?
Is MMP allow Joomla migration with all the components?

Thanks for your answer.

Reply to Simon

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
November 05, 2014 - 16:05

Hi there,

Thank you for your question. Yes, Migrate Me Plus will migrate your system to Joomla 3, along with your extensions and extension data.

However, to ensure that your extensions are Joomla 3 compatible, after migration is complete, please update each extension to the latest Joomla 3 compatible version.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Julius

Rating:
October 24, 2014 - 21:52

Hi Barnaby,

from what I am reading your MMP is what I am looking for, especially the procedure to first clone the site on the same server and have the ability to check for any errors and upgrade extensions etc before going live.

three questions.

1. will the MMP cloned site be crawled by robots and thus indexed by search engines which will cause the (temporary) new site to show up in search results. Especially if the migration and tweaking of the new site will be done over a number of days (maybe weeks)..

2. will the cloned update site send out emails? for example i have easyblog installed,when i put a test blog on the cloned site to see if all functionality is up and running for eb, will 'subscribers to that blog get an email ?

3. it is very likely that while i am working on the cloned site before going live there will be new subscribers coming in through the original site and maybe even some new articles have been posted. Is there an easy way to have these changes that occur on the live site, while the upgraded site is not ready yet, to be included when pushing to live ?

thanks, Julius

Reply to Julius

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
October 25, 2014 - 08:59

Hi Julius,

Thank you for your great questions.

The new folder won't be known about by search robots, so unless you tell them it is there, for example with a link or by submitting it to google, they wouldn't find it. However, if you'd like to be absolutely sure it won't be spidered, I'd recommend adding a robots.txt file to the MMP folder to prevent this.

The cloned site would send out emails as normal; the way to stop this would be to disable email functionality in the new Joomla 3 configuration, and also in your blog configuration while you test the new system.

Unfortunately there's no easy way to re-clone new data to the new system, since there are literally hundreds of changes that would need to be reproduced. I've thought about various ways of doing this, but each one would have the risk of data conflict. The best way is to try to limit new sign-ups and articles during migration, and then - so long as there are only a few new users and/or articles - to reproduce these manually on the new system. Alternatively if this is not practical I could re-clone the users and articles to Joomla 3 on my development server for you, and then manually import it to your MMP area, to overwrite the originally cloned data. If you need to do this, please send me an email right before you're ready to go live, and I'll help you do that.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Rich Wagenknecht

Rating:
October 12, 2014 - 14:04

Hi,

I have a system on 1.6. When I try to install upgrade me plus, I get this error: Error! Could not find a Joomla! XML setup file in the package.

I'm stumped.

Rich

Reply to Rich Wagenknecht

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
October 12, 2014 - 14:11

Hi there,

This would usually only happen if your system is Joomla 1.5 or below. If it is definitely Joomla 1.6 please email me with an admin login and I will check it out for you.

Thanks, Barnaby Dixon

Jeff Ng

Rating:
October 06, 2014 - 16:32

What about K2 Items and Categories? will there be any problems.

Reply to Jeff Ng

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
October 06, 2014 - 17:18

Hi there,

There will be no problems at all. Your K2 items and categories will migrate perfectly.

All the best,
Barnaby Dixon

Reply to Jeff Ng

Rich Wagenknecht

Rating:
October 12, 2014 - 14:52

My fault. It is on 1.5.26. So I need migrate me instead?

Reply to Jeff Ng

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
October 12, 2014 - 15:14

Hi again,

Yes, to migrate Joomla 1.5 you'll need Migrate Me (not plus)

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Marek

Rating:
October 04, 2014 - 05:23

Hello,

after running Migrate Me Plus on Joomla 2.5.27 site, I am getting an error:

Installation unexpectedly terminated:Failed to load extension details

Migration failed!

Error details:
Status:500

Do you have any suggestions, how to proceed?

Reply to Marek

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
October 04, 2014 - 08:14

Hi Marek,

Thank you for your email.

What were the exact steps you took before this happened? Were you installing an extension on the new Joomla 3 system?

I'm not 100% sure what happened here, since I've not seen this happen before - but my initial guess from your description is that the system isn't able to install extensions (probably due to an incorrect tmp directory). If you'd like me to investigate further, please email me directly with a login to the admin and details of what happened and I'll take a look!

Thanks & all the best, Barnaby Dixon

Peter

Rating:
September 30, 2014 - 00:54

I've purchased a gold license for Migrate Me Plus and it runs generally spectacular. I've had problems with a third party component called Event Registration Pro which I suspect is more to do with migrating versions of the application than the process. If anyone has any ideas in a direction to look that'd be great!

Reply to Peter

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
September 30, 2014 - 07:06

Hi Peter,

Thanks for getting in touch. I'm not aware of any issues with the Event Registration Pro migration - in theory it should work perfectly. What sorts of issues did you hit?

In general you should be able to migrate your system, then install the latest version of the extension and it should be updated as required - but if I can help out at all please do let me know; or you might like to get in touch with the Events Registration Pro team if their extension is not entirely Joomla 3.3.4 compliant.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Hantari Ion

Rating:
September 29, 2014 - 13:05

Hello,
I just buyed the composant from you and now when I try to install at my website I have the following message:
Erreur : Impossible de trouver un fichier XML Joomla! d'installation dans ce pack!
It seems that is not compatible with joomla 1.5.26.
Can you help me please?

Reply to Hantari Ion

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
September 29, 2014 - 13:54

Hi there,

Thank you for your comment.

Please install Migrate Me on Joomla 2.5 or 3. You need to first set up Joomla 2.5 or 3, and then install Migrate Me, and then follow the instructions to migrate your Joomla 1.5 system to the new one.

I hope that helps!

Please let me know if you have any more questions.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Vaughn Thompson

Rating:
September 06, 2014 - 07:48

Hi,
After completing the migration including upgrading extensions, etc. I have an issue with the administrator console. When I log in it redirects to a blank page. I can still access everything in the admin section except for the "control panel". There are no error messages and the front end appears fine. Any suggestions?

Reply to Vaughn Thompson

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
September 06, 2014 - 14:39

Hi Vaughn,

Thank you for getting in touch.

If this happens on the Control Panel but nowhere else, this will likely be a CPanel module. If you don't have an error message, I'm afraid a bit of experimentation is required to find out which module is causing the problem. Go to Extensions > Manage and find the modules in the CPanel position, and disable each one in turn. When your Control Panel works, you have found the problem.

From memory though, the key culprits tend to be Akeeba (to fix, simply reinstall Akeeba Backup), K2 modules (again, reinstall K2) and a few of the shop extensions.

Hope that helps!

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Reply to Vaughn Thompson

Vaughn Thompson

Rating:
September 08, 2014 - 02:50

Resolved: It was lib_fof which I missed when uninstalling Akeeba.

Reply to Vaughn Thompson

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
September 08, 2014 - 06:35

Thanks for the update Vaughn!

Have a great one :-)

Barnaby Dixon

Stephen Layton

Rating:
September 05, 2014 - 12:21

Barnaby,

Migrate Me is an excellent module and really does make upgrading from Joomla 2.5 to 3.3 both simpler and, more importantly, safer.

I am very impressed and, at the same time grateful to have found your site. Your support backup is also second to none.

Reply to Stephen Layton

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
September 08, 2014 - 06:36

Thank you Stephen for your very kind words!

Barnaby

Katja Neppert

Rating:
September 05, 2014 - 10:45

Hi David,
the component worked fine, but afterwards there were in the database virtuemart plugins and modules noted, that could not be uninstalled because the files never existed. Is there a simple way to handle this?
What I would do is: export the database, search for virtuemart entries, remove them and import the database again.

Reply to Katja Neppert

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
September 05, 2014 - 10:56

Hi Katja,

Thank you for getting in touch.

This is unfortunately something in the Joomla system - it does not uninstall if one or more files are missing.

You can manually fix this by going to the __extensions data table, and find your virtuemart entries, and remove each one.

This will be faster than exporting and re-importing the database.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Nancy

Rating:
September 03, 2014 - 09:51

Hi there,

I have a problem with installing the component. I have installed it but can not find it so I can not press the upgrade button.

Hope you can help me with this.

Reply to Nancy

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
September 03, 2014 - 11:52

Hi there Nancy,

Thank you for your question.

Sometimes Joomla has a wierd bug where it installs an extension, but fails without any error message, and doesn't create the menu item. It happens occasionally, but I don't know what the cause is.

Please reinstall the extension as normal, and it should create the menu item for you. If not, please send me a login and I'll see what I can do.

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

Efrain

Rating:
August 26, 2014 - 15:14

I have a prepurchase question. I am looking to upgrade my site to 3.0 from 2.5. Two questions 1.) my template is 2.5 will it still work? 2.) Will program help if I want to switch templates and do not want to lose any content?

Sorry in advance...I am a newbie...

Reply to Efrain

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
August 26, 2014 - 16:45

Hi Efrain,

Thank you for your question.

Yes - Migrate Me Plus will still work even if your template is for Joomla 2.5. I cannot guarantee that your template will work correctly in Joomla 3, it depends how complex it is, and how it has been coded.

If you want to switch templates, and not lose any content, Migrate Me Plus will be perfect for you. It migrates all data, and allows you to keep your old template if you want it (and it is compatible with Joomla 3), and sets up a brand new development area for you to try out new templates, update your extensions, and so on.

All the best - Barnaby Dixon

Mike

Rating:
August 15, 2014 - 11:23

Will this work upgrading from a 1.5.x site?

Reply to Mike

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
August 15, 2014 - 12:36

Hi Mike,

Thank you for your question.

To upgrade Joomla 1.5 you'll need the original Migrate Me. Migrate Me Plus is only compatible with Joomla 1.6+

All the best, Barnaby Dixon

snakebaby

Rating:
July 31, 2014 - 17:06

Hi Barnaby:

Would it be possible for you to email me a documentation so I can read before purchase it? I'm new to Joomla, learned everything on my own, just want to better prepare myself and gain the needed confidence.

Thanks!

Reply to snakebaby

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
August 04, 2014 - 06:33

Hi there,

Thank you for your question.

Yes of course - you can download the current documentation from http://www.php-web-design.com/docs/migratemeplus.pdf

All the best,

Barnaby Dixon

Ron Lilburne

Rating:
July 18, 2014 - 04:33

Hi Barnaby,

firstly thanks for your excellent product, we had a few dramas, but your service and assistance was outstanding. We were able to keep our old site live while upgrading various software, tweaking the template and components and testing the same. An excellent product which I recommend to anyone considering the product.

Ron

Reply to Ron Lilburne

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
July 19, 2014 - 11:27

Thanks Ron!

Mike Riess

Rating:
July 17, 2014 - 20:31

I appreciate Barnaby's quick responses, friendly service, and overall great commitment to running a sound web dev business! Would definitely do business with again. Also, the plugin felt very well developed / seamless, and well documented!

Reply to Mike Riess

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
July 19, 2014 - 11:27

Thanks Mike!

Grace McKay

Rating:
July 16, 2014 - 19:39

Hi Barnaby, I have a 2.5.22 site and trying to upgrade to 3.3.x. with MigrateMe Plus. I am getting about 30% through the process and get this error "Unable to clone date from otqu7_mt_cats. Aborting migration." this table is the Mosets Tree Categories table. It wrote 23 rows of data out of 211 rows in this table.We have 256mb of memory and a 300 sec timeout. Any ideas?

Reply to Grace McKay

Barnaby Dixon

Rating:
July 17, 2014 - 11:34

Hi Grace,

Thank you for your email.

Please send me your log directly, which you will find at /administrator/components/com_migratemeplus/log.txt

Thanks!

Leave a Comment





 


All content copywrite © 2005-2012 VibaWeb Ltd. All rights reserved. PHP Web Design is a trading name of VibaWeb Ltd. Extensions Licence